Louis-Pierre Gravelle

Louis-Pierre Gravelle

Lawyer, Engineer and Patent Agent in Canada and the United States, Partner

Montreal

[javascript protected email address]
Tel. Montréal: 514 987-8876
Languages: English, French
As for the future, your task is not to foresee it, but to enable it
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Louis-Pierre Gravelle specializes in the drafting and prosecution of patent applications and providing patentability, validity, infringement and right to manufacture opinions in the fields of electricity, telecommunications, mechanicals and information technology.

He is a registered patent agent in Canada since 1998 and in the United States since 1999.

In addition to the drafting and prosecution of patent applications, Louis-Pierre Gravelle is involved in due diligence matters and in managing patent portfolio. He is also involved in strategic counselling for medium and large-sized businesses.

Louis-Pierre also sits on the business development committee, the information technology committee and the office automation committee of the firm.

  • Member of the Québec Bar (1995)
  • Bachelor in Common Law (LL.B.), University of Ottawa (1995)
  • Bachelor in Civil Law (LL.L.), University of Ottawa (1994)
  • Bachelor in Applied Sciences – Electrical Engineering (B. Sc. A.), University of Ottawa (1991)
  • Intellectual Property Institute of Canada (IPIC) – Treasurer; Past chair of the Patent Practice Committee; Past vice-chair of the Forums and Seminars Committee
  • Canadian Bar Association (CBA) - Past-chair of the Intellectual Property Section
  • American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA)
  • FICPI – Reporter for the Professional Education Commission
  • FICPI Canada – Treasurer
  • Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (OIQ)
  • Best Lawyers 2021 : Intellectual Property Law
  • The Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory 2017-2019 Lexpert : Repeatedly Recommended in Intellectual Property
  • Best Lawyers 2012 to 2020 : Intellectual Property Law
  • IAM Patent 1000 (Since 2012)
  • The Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory 2017-2019 Lexpert : Frequently recommended in Intellectual Property
  • Telecommunications
  • Optic systems
  • Microwave
  • Aeronautics
  • Transportation
  • Financial field
  • E-commerce
  • Software, including games, mobile platforms, Internet and Image Processing
  • Medical devices
  • Emerging Technologies
    • Financial Technologies
  • Business Law
    • Medical Devices
    • Due Diligence
    • Licensing and Technology Transfers (Business Law)
  • Industrial Design - counsel
    • Medical Devices
    • Drafting and Prosecution of Industrial Design Applications
    • Validity, Infringement and Freedom to Operate Opinions
  • Patents - Counsel
    • Portfolio Management
    • Drafting and Prosecution of Patent Applications
    • Validity, Infringement, Freedom to Operate and Patentability Opinions
    • Licensing and Technology Transfers (Patents - Counsel)
  • Patents - Fields of Science and Engineering
    • Medical Devices
    • Electricity
    • Electronics
    • Telecommunications
  • New technology: What can we do today to avoid regrets tomorrow?
  • DABUS, the inventor that wasn’t?
    Louis-Pierre Gravelle
    [*]
    ROBIC, LLP
    Lawyers, Patent and Trademark Agents

    The now well-known “DABUS” case continues to make headlines, with the USPTO having now issued a legal decision by the Deputy Commissioner for Patent Examination Policy denying DABUS, the AI machine, status as an “inventor”.

    This case stems from applications initially filed in the Fall of 2018 in Europe : EP 3 564 144 and EP 3 563 896, naming “DABUS” as the inventor of the inventions disclosed.  US application 16/524,350 was filed on July 29, 2019, and is directed to “Devices and Methods for Attracting Enhanced Attention”, equivalent to EP 3 564 896.  The application in the United States names “DABUS”, an AI machine, as the sole inventor.

    At the formalities stage of review of the application by the USPTO, the Office issued a “Notice to file Missing Parts”, since the Application failed to name the inventor by her/his name.  The owner of the application, Stephen Thaler, filed a petition for review of inventorship, stating that DABUS autonomously and independently created the claimed invention, and, probably more interestingly, DABUS was not specifically trained in the relevant area of the invention.  The argument articulated a distinction between what is generally known as “narrow AI”, i.e. tools that are designed and taught to solve specific problems and “general AI”, where a collection of AI algorithms are designed with general knowledge and can adapt to solve problems based on their general “knowledge”.  The word “knowledge” is in quotation, since many experts contend that a true “general AI” machines is decades away, if even possible.  Here, Mr Thaler was most likely trying to steer the question away from identifying who trained a “narrow AI” machine, and therefore should be most likely be named as an inventor, to “the AI was trained on general knowledge, and based on a query made to the AI, the AI returned the invention that is the subject of the present application”.[†]

    Unsurprisingly, and following similar decisions in the EPO and in the UK, the USPTO has taken the position that inventorship in the United States is limited to natural persons.  The USPTO relied on statutes and decisions in non-patent contexts to support its interpretation that an “inventor” is a natural person.  In the US Patent Act, 35 USC 100(f)-(g) use words like “individual” and “whoever”, which the USPTO stated implied natural persons.  In addition, 35 USC 115(b) requires that the oath or declaration accompanying a patent applications be signed by an individual when that individual believes “himself or herself” to be an inventor.

    This decision is consistent with the decisions in the EPO and the UK, where the offices did not recognize DABUS as being an inventor.  In the EPO, the decision turned mainly on the rights that accompany inventorship under the patent system – who would have the right to enforce the patent, who would be able to transfer the rights.  In other words, if we assume that an AI can be named as an inventor, and the AI refuses to sign say a Declaration of invention or an Assignment, how would one proceed to compel a signature?  Identifying a disembodied entity as an inventor should logically procure that entity with the rights and obligations that befall on all human beings, i.e. legal personality. Clearly, the USPTO, and the case law in the United States, did not support such a conclusion.

    Interestingly, in the UK, the UKIPO recognized DABUS as the “creator” of the invention, but could not find support in the legislation or case law to support the conclusion that an AI machine could also be named as an inventor.

    It therefor appears clear that at least in the US and Europe, there is no support for naming an AI machine as an inventor on a patent application.  While that question seems unambiguously settled, other questions remain, such as co-inventorship between humans and non-human entities, and the consequence of naming only humans as inventors, where it can be demonstrated that an AI machine was entirely or even partly responsible for the invention as claimed.  Would the latter case under the current legislative framework, assimilate the AI machine to a “tool” operating under the direction and control of a human?

    These issues and others are certain to stimulate much discussion and debate in the coming years, and may even trigger legislative changes to accommodate the coming reality that extremely powerful machines will play an important role in future technological, societal developments.

     

    © CIPS, 2020.

    [*]Louis-Pierre Gravelle is a Lawyer, Engineer, Patent Agent and Partner for ROBIC, llp, a firm of lawyers, patent and trademark agents.

    [†] The Decisions in the EPO, the UKIPO, and the USPTO, as well as the arguments presented by Mr Thaler use the expression “AI” as a “suitcase word”.  In fact, AI is not a countable noun – AI is a scientific discipline, and that means that AI is a collection of concepts, problems and methods for solving them.  It follows that an AI method is not really an “entity”; it is disembodied. See for example University of Helsinky’s course Elements of AI.

     

    " target="_blank">DABUS, the inventor that wasn’t?
  • Patent Law Treaty is coming to Canada
  • Government of Canada announces the creation of a College
  • Budget Days in Canada: Much ado about, well, stay tuned…
  • Ownership in the Age of Printable Goods: The Collision Between 3D Printing and Intellectual Property
  • A Bright but Perilous Future for the Tech-Wearing Human
  • Tax Breaks for Innovative Companies!
  • A bright but perilous future for the tech-wearing human
  • Patentability Inegibility in Canada
  • View more publications
  • La brevetabilité des inventions mises en œuvre par ordinateur, Québec International, 2012

Louis-Pierre Gravelle

Louis-Pierre Gravelle

Avocat, ingénieur et agent de brevets au Canada et aux États-Unis, associé

Montréal

[javascript protected email address]
Tél. Montréal : 514 987-8876
Langues : Français, Anglais
Pour ce qui est de l’avenir, il ne s’agit pas de le prévoir, mais de le rendre possible
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Louis-Pierre Gravelle se spécialise dans la rédaction et la poursuite de demandes de brevets et la préparation d’opinions en brevetabilité, validité, contrefaçon et liberté de fabrication dans les domaines de l’électricité, des télécommunications, de la mécanique et des technologies de l’information.

Il est agent de brevets inscrit au Canada depuis 1998 et aux États-Unis depuis 1999.

En plus de la rédaction et la poursuite de demandes de brevets, Louis-Pierre Gravelle s’implique dans les vérifications diligentes, la gestion de portefeuilles de brevets et agit comme conseiller stratégique de propriété intellectuelle auprès de ses clients.

Louis-Pierre Gravelle fait partie du comité du développement des affaires, du comité informatique et du comité bureautique du cabinet.

  • Membre du Barreau du Québec (1995)
  • Baccalauréat en droit - Common Law (LL.B.), Université d’Ottawa (1995)
  • Baccalauréat en droit civil (LL.L.), Université d’Ottawa (1994)
  • Baccalauréat en sciences appliquées – génie électrique (B. Sc. A.), Université d’Ottawa (1991)
  • Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (IPIC) – Trésorier; Ancien président du comité des pratiques brevets; ancien vice-président du comité des forums et séminaires
  • Association du Barreau canadien (ABC) - Ancien président de la Section nationale de la propriété intellectuelle
  • American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA)
  • FICPI – Secrétaire de la Commission d’éducation professionnelle
  • FICPI Canada - Conseiller
  • Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (OIQ)
  • Best Lawyers : Propriété intellectuelle 2020
  • Best Lawyers : Propriété intellectuelle (Depuis 2012)
  • IAM Patent 1000 (Depuis 2012)
  • Lexpert : Constamment recommandé (2017)
  • Aéronautique
  • Commerce électronique
  • Dispositifs médicaux
  • Domaine financier
  • Logiciels, jeux, plateformes mobiles, internet et traitement de l’image
  • Micro-ondes
  • Systèmes optiques
  • Télécommunications
  • Transport
  • Brevets - conseil
    • Gestion de portefeuilles
    • Licensing et transferts de technologie
    • Rédaction d'opinion de validité, de contrefaçon, de liberté de fabrication et de brevetabilité
    • Rédaction et poursuite de demandes de brevets
  • Brevets - domaines scientifiques et de génie
    • Dispositifs médicaux
    • Électricité
    • Électronique
    • Télécommunications
  • Dessins industriels - conseil
    • Dispositifs médicaux
    • Rédaction et poursuite de demandes de dessins industriels
    • Rédaction d'opinion de validité, de contrefaçon, de liberté de fabrication
  • Droit des affaires
    • Dispositifs médicaux
    • Vérification diligente
    • Licensing et transferts de technologies
  • Technologies émergentes
    • Technologies financières
  • DABUS, l’inventeur qui n’était pas ?
    Louis-Pierre Gravelle
    [*]
    ROBIC, s.e.n.c.r.l.
    Avocats, agents de brevets et de marques de commerce

    L’affaire « DABUS », désormais bien connue, continue de faire la une des journaux.  L’USPTO a maintenant rendu une décision par le Commissaire adjoint chargé de la politique d’examen des brevets refusant à DABUS, la machine d’IA, le statut d’inventeur.

    Cette affaire découle de demandes initialement déposées à l’automne 2018 en Europe : EP 3 564 144 et EP 3 563 896, désignant « DABUS » comme l’inventeur des inventions divulguées.  La demande américaine 16/524,350 a été déposée le 29 juillet 2019 et porte sur les « Dispositifs et méthodes pour attirer une attention accrue », équivalent à EP 3 564 896.  La demande aux États-Unis désigne « DABUS », une machine d’IA, comme seul inventeur.

    Au stade des formalités d’examen de la demande par l’USPTO, l’Office a émis une « Notice to file Missing Parts », car la demande ne mentionnait pas l’inventeur par son nom.  Le propriétaire de la demande, Stephen Thaler, a déposé une requête en révision de la paternité de l’invention, déclarant que DABUS avait créé l’invention revendiquée de manière autonome et indépendante et, ce qui est probablement plus intéressant, que DABUS n’avait pas reçu de formation spécifique dans le domaine concerné de l’invention.  L’argument établissait une distinction entre ce qui est généralement connu sous le nom « d’IA étroite », soit des outils auxquels il est enseigné à résoudre des problèmes spécifiques, et « l’IA générale », où une collection d’algorithmes d’IA sont conçus avec des connaissances générales et peuvent s’adapter pour résoudre des problèmes sur la base de ces « connaissances » générales.  Le mot « connaissance » est entre guillemets, car de nombreux experts affirment qu’une véritable machine d’IA générale ne verra le jour que dans des décennies, si elle est même possible.  Ici, M. Thaler a très probablement essayé de détourner la question de savoir qui a formé une machine d’IA étroite – et devrait donc être nommé inventeur – pour la poser comme suit : « l’IA a été formée sur la base de connaissances générales, et sur la base d’une requête faite à l’IA, l’IA a renvoyé l’invention qui fait l’objet de la présente demande ».[†]

    Sans surprise, et suite à des décisions similaires de l’OEB et du Royaume-Uni, l’USPTO a adopté la position selon laquelle la propriété intellectuelle aux États-Unis est limitée aux personnes physiques.  L’USPTO s’est appuyé sur des lois et des décisions dans des contextes autres que le monde des brevets pour étayer son interprétation selon laquelle un « inventeur » est une personne physique.  Dans la loi américaine sur les brevets, les alinéas 35 USC 100(f)-(g) utilisent des mots comme « individu » et « quiconque », qui, selon l’USPTO, impliquent des personnes physiques.  En outre, l’alinéa 35 USC 115(b) exige que le serment ou la déclaration accompagnant une demande de brevet soit signé par un individu lorsque cet individu se considère « lui-même ou elle-même » comme étant un inventeur.

    Cette décision est conforme à celles de l’OEB et du Royaume-Uni, où les offices n’ont pas reconnu DABUS comme étant un inventeur.  À l’OEB, la décision portait principalement sur les droits qui accompagnent la propriété intellectuelle dans le système de brevets – qui aurait le droit de faire valoir le brevet? Qui pourrait transférer les droits?  En d’autres termes, si nous supposons qu’une machine d’IA peut être désignée comme inventeur, et que l’IA refuse de signer, par exemple, une déclaration d’invention ou une cession, comment procéder pour contraindre une signature? L’identification d’une entité désincarnée en tant qu’inventeur devrait logiquement procurer à cette entité les droits et obligations qui incombent à tous les êtres humains, c’est-à-dire la personnalité juridique. Il est clair que l’USPTO et la jurisprudence américaine n’ont pas soutenu une telle conclusion.

    Il est intéressant de noter qu’au Royaume-Uni, l’UKIPO a reconnu DABUS comme le « créateur » de l’invention, mais n’a pas pu trouver d’appui dans la législation ou la jurisprudence pour soutenir la conclusion qu’une machine d’IA pouvait également être nommée comme inventeur.

    Il semble donc clair qu’au moins aux États-Unis et en Europe, il n’y a pas de justification pour nommer une machine d’IA comme inventeur dans une demande de brevet.  Si cette question semble réglée sans ambiguïté, d’autres questions subsistent, telles que la co-invention entre les humains et les entités non humaines, et la conséquence de la désignation des seuls humains comme inventeurs, lorsqu’il peut être démontré qu’une machine d’IA était entièrement ou même partiellement responsable de l’invention telle que revendiquée.  Dans ce dernier cas, le cadre législatif actuel assimilerait-il la machine d’IA à un « outil » fonctionnant sous la direction et le contrôle d’un être humain?

    Ces questions et d’autres encore vont certainement susciter de nombreuses discussions et débats dans les prochaines années, et pourraient même déclencher des changements législatifs pour tenir compte de la réalité à venir, à savoir que des machines extrêmement puissantes joueront un rôle important dans les futurs développements technologiques et sociétaux.

     

     

    © CIPS, 2020.

    [*] Louis-Pierre Gravelle est avocat, ingénieur, agent de brevets et associé chez ROBIC, S.E.N.C.R.L., un cabinet multidisciplinaire d’avocats et d’agents de brevets et de marques de commerce.

    [†]Les décisions de l’OEB, de l’UKIPO et de l’USPTO, ainsi que les arguments présentés par M. Thaler utilisent l’expression « IA » comme un « mot-valise ».  En fait, l’IA n’est pas un nom dénombrable – l’IA est une discipline scientifique, ce qui signifie que l’IA est un ensemble de concepts, de problèmes et de méthodes pour les résoudre.  Il s’ensuit qu’une méthode d’IA n’est pas vraiment une « entité » ; elle est désincarnée. Voir par exemple le cours de l’université d’Helsinki intitulé « Elements of AI« .

    " target="_blank">DABUS, l’inventeur qui n’était pas?
  • Le traité sur le droit des brevets arrive au Canada
  • Le gouvernement du Canada annonce la création d’un ordre professionnel
  • Jours de dépôt du budget au Canada : Beaucoup de bruit pour … Hé bien, lisez davantage sur la question!
  • La propriété à l’ère des biens imprimables : impression 3D et propriété intellectuelle sont-elles compatibles?
  • La propriété intellectuelle à la rescousse des applications mobiles
  • L’avenir prometteur mais périlleux de l’humain vêtu de technologie
  • Baisse d’impôts pour les sociétés innovantes!
  • Impression 3D: titulaires de droits de propriété intellectuelle, soyez sur vos gardes!
  • Critère de nouveauté
  • Consulter toutes les publications
  • La brevetabilité des inventions mises en œuvre par ordinateur, Québec International, 2012