François Painchaud

François Painchaud

Lawyer, Partner

Montreal

[javascript protected email address]
Tel.: 514 987-8895
Languages: English, French

Profile

François Painchaud specializes in business law applied to key technology sectors. He is frequently involved in the drafting and negotiation of complex transactions related to technology transfers and joint ventures and in commercial and corporate law, including venture capital and mergers and acquisitions.
He was named Lawyer of the Year 2014 – Information Technology in Montréal by Best Lawyers. He was also named Technology Transfert Lawyer of the Year in Canada by Corporate Intl Magazine Global Awards.
François Painchaud’s clients are important all-sized businesses, both Canadian and foreign, in various fields, including:
• Life Sciences (pharmaceutical/biotechnology)
• Information Technology (IT)
• Venture Capital
• Chemistry and other industrial technologies
Called to the Québec Bar in 1986, François Painchaud has been a partner at ROBIC for more than 25 years. He is a member of the firm’s management committee and heads the Business Law group.
He is Past-President of Licensing Executives Society (U.S.A. & Canada), Inc. and was a member of the board of directors from 2001 to 2010. Since 2011, has been counsel, then corporate secretary to the board of directors and a member of the board of directors of Licensing Executives Society International (LESI). He was a member of the board of directors and treasurer of Certified Licensing Professionals, Inc until 2013. He is also director and general secretary for the Canadian Louis Pasteur Foundation.
François Painchaud is a member of the Canadian Bar Association (CBA) and was part of the executive committee of the Business Law Section (Québec Branch) and Past-President of the executive committee for the Information, Telecommunications and Intellectual Property Section of the Quebec Branch.
He serves on the board of directors or as corporate secretary of various private and public companies operating in life sciences and other technology driven fields. He is also a member of several business associations.
Academically, he was a lecturer at McGill University for four years for the course entitled Complex Legal Transactions – Trade Secrets Law and Technology Transfers and lecturer in courses on business law at Concordia University’s MBA program. He has also been involved for several years as part of a licensing course on Trademark Law, jointly organized by the Intellectual Property Institute of Canada (IPIC) and McGill University.

François Painchaud is frequently solicited to give lectures in various areas of technology transfers and intellectual property in commercial transactions for several business groups and associations.
He also contributed to the annual update of the book Robic-Leger, Canadian Trade Marks Act Annotated and the drafting of Robic-Leger, Canadian Copyright Act Annotated, both published by Carswell. He regularly publishes articles in his fields of specialization.

Education

  • Member of the Québec Bar (1986)
  • Bachelor of Civil Law (LL.B.), Université de Montréal (1985)
  • Certification: Certified Licensing Professional (CLP)

Associations

  • Association des diplômés en droit de l’Université de Montréal (ADDUM)
  • Canadian Bar Association (CBA)
  • Canadian Healthcare Licensing Association (CHLA)
  • Canadian Society of Corporate Secretary (CSCS)
  • The Canadian Club of Montreal
  • Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal (BTMM)
  • Institute of Corporate Directors – Quebec Chapter
  • Licensing Executives Society (USA & Canada), Inc. (LES)
  • National Association of Corporate Directors (NACD)
  • New York Bar Association (NYBA)
  • Réseau capital
  • Society of Corporate Secretaries & Governance Professionals

François Painchaud

François Painchaud

Avocat, associé

Montréal

[javascript protected email address]
Tél. : 514 987-8895
Langues : Français, Anglais

Profil

François Painchaud se spécialise en droit des affaires appliqué aux principaux secteurs technologiques. Dans ce contexte, il est fréquemment impliqué dans la préparation et la négociation de transactions complexes reliées aux transferts de technologie et coentreprises, ainsi que dans les secteurs du droit commercial et corporatif, dont le financement à capital de risque et les fusions et acquisitions.
Il a été nommé avocat de l’année 2014 par Best Lawyers dans la catégorie droit des technologies de l’information à Montréal et avocat de l’année 2019 dans la catégorie droit des technologies. Il fut également nommé avocat de l’année 2014 au Canada par Corporate Intel Magazine Global Awards dans la catégorie des transferts technologiques.
Les clients de François Painchaud sont d’importantes entreprises canadiennes et étrangères œuvrant dans différents domaines et secteurs industriels, dont :
• Sciences de la vie (industrie pharmaceutique/biotechnologie)
• Technologies de l’information et des télécommunications
• Capital de risque
• Chimie et autres technologies industrielles
• Franchises et concessions
Admis au Barreau en 1986, François Painchaud est associé depuis plus de 25 ans au cabinet. Il dirige le groupe de droit des affaires de ROBIC et est membre du comité de gestion du cabinet.
Il est un ancien président du Licensing Executives Society (U.S.A. & Canada) et a été membre de son conseil d’administration de 2001 à 2010. Au sein du Licensing Executives Society International il a œuvré en tant que conseiller juridique de 2011 à 2013, et œuvre depuis 2013 comme membre du conseil d’administration et secrétaire corporatif. Il est aussi administrateur de Certified Licensing Professionnals et également administrateur et secrétaire général de la Fondation canadienne Louis Pasteur.
Il est membre de l’Association du Barreau canadien (ABC), où il a fait partie du comité exécutif de la section droit des affaires (division du Québec). Il est aussi ancien président du comité exécutif de la section droit des télécommunications, information et propriété intellectuelle (division du Québec).
François Painchaud fait partie et a fait partie de conseils d’administration de diverses compagnies ouvertes et privées œuvrant dans les sciences de la vie et dans d’autres secteurs technologiques. Il est également membre de plusieurs associations d’affaires.
Sur le plan de l’enseignement, il a été chargé de cours auprès de l’Université McGill pendant quatre ans pour le cours intitulé Complex Legal Transactions – Trade Secrets Law and Technology Transfers et conférencier au cours sur le droit des affaires du programme de MBA de l’Université Concordia. Il a également été impliqué, pendant plusieurs années, dans le volet licensing d’un cours intensif sur le droit des marques de commerce organisé conjointement par l’Institut de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (IPIC) et l’Université McGill.
Il est fréquemment appelé à donner des conférences dans les secteurs des transferts technologiques et de la propriété intellectuelle dans les transactions commerciales auprès de plusieurs groupes d’entreprises et d’associations.
François Painchaud a également contribué à la mise à jour annuelle du livre Robic-Léger, Canadian Trade Marks Act Annotated et à la rédaction du Robic-Léger, Canadian Copyright Act Annotated, tous deux publiés par Carswell. Il publie régulièrement des articles dans ses champs de spécialisation.

Formation

  • Membre du Barreau du Québec (1986)
  • Baccalauréat en droit civil (LL.B.), Université de Montréal (1985)
  • Certification: Certified Licensing Professional (CLP)

Associations

  • Association des diplômés en droit de l’Université de Montréal (ADDUM)
  • Association du Barreau canadien (ABC)
  • Canadian Healthcare Licensing Association (CHLA)
  • Le Cercle canadien de Montréal
  • Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain (CCMM)
  • Canadian Society of Corporate Secretary
  • Institut des administrateurs de sociétés – Section du Québec
  • Licensing Executives Society (USA & Canada), Inc.
  • National Association of Corporate Directors
  • New York Bar Association
  • Réseau capital
  • Society of Corporate Secretaries & Governance Professionals

Domaines de pratique

  • Brevets - conseil
    • Gestion de portefeuilles
    • Planification stratégique
  • Droit des affaires
    • Confidentialité et secrets de commerce
    • Vérification diligente (Droit des affaires)
    • Franchisage
    • Contrats
    • Licensing et transferts de technologies
    • Financement d'entreprises (incluant le capital de risque)
    • Fusions et acquisitions
    • Gestion et valorisation de droits de propriété intellectuelle
    • Consortiums et coentreprises
  • Marques de commerce
    • Gestion de portefeuilles de marques
    • Stratégie de protection de marques de commerce et de noms commerciaux

Expertise par industrie

  • Chimie industrielle
  • Pharmaceutique
  • Sciences de la vie
  • TI, communications et logiciels
  • Technologies vertes

Publications